Welcome to The Region of Three Oaks Museum

12 noon to 5 PM 
Fridays, Saturdays, 
and Sundays  

Read about what's new on our "Exhibits" page!


"Fred Warren's Amazing Calculating Engine"

It may be the first calculating machine produced in the US, and it
was put together in Three Oaks way back in 1875. Join TROTOM Board Member Nick Bogert and Notre Dame Computer Science Prof. Jay Brockman for a look 
at an extraordinary machine and an amazing drama that surrounded its invention. You can view this program by clicking HERE.


"Three Oaks Flag Day Parade-- Through the Years"

Sadly, the Three Oaks Flag Day Parade-- a local favorite since 1953-- 

was canceled this year, due to public health concerns. But The Region of Three Oaks Museum created this look back at a beloved tradition, the parade that, organizers assure us, is still the largest Flag Day parade in the country.

You can see our Flag Day retrospective by clicking HERE.

"Three Oaks Department Stores"

In 1910, the Charles K. Warren & Company store opened with giant wagonloads 
of shoppers coming to Three Oaks. The village's big company store soon passed

to the Hunerjager family, who ran the store and staged village fashion shows
for decades. See the program by clicking

"The Booms and Busts of Frontier New Buffalo"

New Buffalo careened from good times to bad with astonishing speed in the days after
its founding by Captain Wessel Whitaker. Watch the 40-minute Power Point talk put 

together by TROTOM Board Member Nick Bogert by clicking HERE.


Watch TROTOM documentaries online

"E.K. Warren: Father of Featherbone"  
TROTOM's 2016 look at the industrialist who changed the face of Three Oaks. 
Warren brought prosperity, nationwide attention for patriotism, and prohibition 
to the the town, and left behind lasting legacies of nature we still enjoy.
See it by clicking

"The Pokagon Band: More than Just a Casino" 

Michiana Potowatomi successfully resisted US government efforts to move them from Michigan to Kansas, thanks to their chief, Leopold Pokagon. The tribe, however
 didn't win recognition from Washington for about 160 years!
 to see our 2017 documentary.

"Gridder, Grappler, Hustler, Spy:

The Amazing Life of Joe Savoldi" 

TROTOM's 2018 documentary recounts the saga of the athlete who starred in four sports at Three Oaks High, was a national sensation playing  for Knute Rockne's Notre Dame football teams, played briefly for the Chicago Bears, and then became a globe-trotting pro wrestler who won a world championship under shady circumstances.

In World War II, Savoldi spied for the American OSS in his native Italy.

See this sweeping saga by clicking HERE.

From the first peoples to the pioneers to the early industrialists to the present day,

the region of Three Oaks, Michigan has a fascinating history.

The Region of Three Oaks Museum was created in 2004 to tell that story in artifacts, pictures,
words and video. 
Come visit us and discover it all for yourself!

Several new or greatly augmented exhibits will debut during the 2020 museum season.

Details on our "Exhibits" page.



Now at The Region of Three Oaks Museum

Discover how local athlete Joe Savoldi got kicked off a national championship football team and became a champion wrestler under scandalous circumstances, and then a spy before he got into the beverage business.



Chuck Sittig, Chair

Harold Russell

Janet Hayes

Julie Sittig

Nick Bogert
Randy Miller

Chris Mitchell

Daniel McDonough


The Region of Three Oaks Museum

PO Box 121

5 Featherbone Ave.

Three Oaks MI



The Region of Three Oaks Museum is a nonprofit,

501 (C) (3) organization. All contributions are tax-deductible

  • Facebook Social Icon